Skip navigation

Schedule content publishing

4 min read
Download PDF

There are situations where you might want to set a publish date for a content item. This allows you to prepare and schedule content changes that are automatically triggered at a specific point in time.

Keep in mind that changing a workflow step depends on your role permissions and your project's workflow setup.

Table of contents

    Schedule a content item for publishing

    1. In  Content & assets, open a content item you want to schedule for publishing.
    2. Click  Publish….
    3. Select Schedule publish.
    4. Select a date, time, and time zone.
      • The pre-selected time zone matches the time zone on your device. You can select another time zone based on the region you're publishing the content for.
    5. Click Done.
    6. Click Save changes.

    If the opened content item links to other content items, you'll see Continue instead of Save changes. You'll have the option to schedule the unpublished linked items too. Select the items you want to schedule for publishing and click Schedule.

    Schedule content item to be published at a specific date and time

    The system will change the workflow step of the content items to Scheduled. At the specified time (with a possible delay of up to 5 minutes), the workflow step will change to Published and the items will become publicly available.

    To reschedule a content item, you have to remove the schedule and then schedule the publishing again.

    Publishing with linked content items and non-localizable elements

    If the content item contains any links to content items or linked content items, you can publish the other items at the same time to prevent broken links or even breaking your app.

    If you're publishing content that isn't in the default language and it contains non-localizable elements, you can also publish the default variant of the content item in one go.

    To publish more items with your content item, choose the items you would like to publish with the original item and click Publish item with selected items. All unselected items will remain in their current workflow steps.

    Publish item with its linked content

    Be sure not to close the window until your content item and all linked items are published.

    You can't select linked items for publishing if:

    • The linked item's workflow requires further steps prior to publishing.
    • Your role doesn't have permission to publish that linked item.
    • The linked item is already published.

    This does not apply to components in rich text elements. Components are always published together with the item that contains them.

    Schedule multiple content items for publishing

    1. In  Content & assets, select the content items you want to schedule for publishing.
    2. Click .
    3. Click Publish.
      • You can schedule items for publishing in bulk only if all the selected items can transition to the Published workflow step. This is based on your workflow setup.
    4. Select Schedule publish.
    5. Select a date, time, and time zone.
      • The pre-selected time zone matches the time zone on your device. You can select another time zone based on the region you're publishing the content for.
    6. Click Done.
    7. Click Save changes.

    Cancel scheduled publishing

    1. In  Content & assets, open a content item you want to unschedule.
    2. In the notification bar at the top, click Remove publishing schedule.
    3. Click Remove schedule in the popup to confirm.

    The workflow step of the content item will change to the first step available to you – usually Draft.

    If the content item links other scheduled items, their schedule won't be canceled.

    Cancel scheduling for multiple items

    1. In  Content & assets, select the content items you want to unschedule.
    2. Click .
    3. Click Remove publishing schedule.
    4. Click Remove schedule in the popup to confirm.

    What's next?