Skip navigation

Compare and restore versions

2 min read
Download PDF

Kontent.ai makes working collaboratively easier by enabling you to quickly check changes in any of your content items. You can compare versions of an item and if you decide that a change isn't needed, you can easily revert back to a previous version.

Table of contents

    Kontent.ai creates a new version of a content item when:

    • You change the content item's workflow step.
    • You make changes to the content after not working on the item for 30 minutes.
    • Someone else on your project makes changes to the content.

    Compare versions

    To compare differences between versions of a content item:

    1. Click  More actions in the upper right of the content item.
    2. Select  Compare versions.
    3. Choose the versions you want to compare.

    You can now compare the differences between versions in the highlighted sections.

    View a single version

    When comparing versions, click the Compare versions switch to see a single version.

    The versions list gives you a complete overview of who made changes and when. This also includes changes of workflow steps. You can view each version, compare it to a previous version, and view more detailed information about each version by clicking More details.

    Restore older versions

    With versioning, you don’t need to worry about having your content accidentally overwritten or deleted as you can always restore any previous version.

    1. Click  More actions in the upper right of the item.
    2. Select  Compare versions.
    3. Select the version you want to restore.
    4. Click Restore older version at the top.

    When you restore an older version of a content item that uses an asset previously deleted from the asset library, you will restore that asset as well. The restored asset will appear in the asset library.

    What's next?