And that’s it! Your new content item is now created. Each change you make is saved automatically.The name you’ve given to your item serves as the item's identifier in Kontent.ai. And because the content item name is shared across all your item's variants, you can find your item in any language.
Create localized content
If you’re part of an international team and you’re creating content in different languages, you might want to look into language variants. Language variants represent different versions of your content for different languages and regions. For example, you might have a single blog post translated into English, Spanish, and French.
Duplicate content items
Sometimes, you might find yourself in a situation where you need a slightly different version of the same content item. Maybe you’re A/B testing your landing page and want to change a thing or two to see which version is more appealing to your visitors. Or, you’re putting together a new job advertisement for the same job position but in a different local branch.
In Content & assets, open the item you want to duplicate.
Click More actions in the upper-right corner.
Choose Including content.
A duplicate of your content item named “Item_name (copy)” is automatically created in the project. Your new duplicate contains elements, components, and linked content of the original content item. The version history, contributors, comments, and due date don't get copied.If you have several language variants of the content item, all of them get duplicated as well.
Duplicate empty content items
If instead of Including content you choose Empty,you create a blank copy. This is the same as creating a new content item of the same type. Make sure to name your new item so you can easily find it in your project.
Create content for your website
When using Web Spotlight, your website’s content is organized in the page tree for easy navigation.
In Web Spotlight, select a page for which you want to create content.
Switch to the Editor tab.
In Content, specify a content item that should be displayed on this page.
If there’s no Content, you might need to look for a different name, depending on how your project admins set it up.
In the following sections, you’ll get more familiar with what content items have to offer and how to use them to your benefit.To manage your website using Web Spotlight, learn how to add, edit, and preview web pages.
You can delete content items individually while you are in the process of editing a content item, or you can delete content items in bulk from the content list. If a content item has variants created for multiple languages, you can only delete the variant for one given language at a time and the item will return to a Not translated status.To delete a specific content item from your project, open the item for editing and click More actions > Delete.Deleted content items can be immediately restored by clicking the Undo button. Content items that have been deleted for a longer period of time cannot be restored.
To delete more content items from your project:
InContent & assets, select content items using the checkboxes next to their names.
The selected content items are now deleted.
Simultaneous editingWhen you and a colleague of yours open the same content item at the same time, both of you get notified by a banner on top of the screen. When your colleague starts editing some element in the item, Kontent.ai locks the element for you and you'll see a notification with a refresh button in the element. Kontent.ai will unlock the element for you after your colleague leaves the element.When your colleague makes an item-wide change, such as setting a due date, you'll get notified by a banner on top of the screen, nothing gets locked for you.
Reusing content without duplicationDuplicating your content is not always the best option, as your list of content items might get easily cluttered by different copies of the same content. Sometimes, all you need to do is to create a linked item that will contain the information you need to share across multiple content items.
Content expirationThere might be times when you only want to have your content published for a limited time only. You might be running a campaign or launching a time-limited offer on some of your products. In such cases, setting an expiry date would be the right choice. To do that, schedule the content items to get automatically unpublished and archived at the right time.